Sony’s Xperia Play Ad Forces Me To Avoid A ‘Thumbs Up’ Pun

Sony’s gaming ads aren’t exactly known for their…umm…that is they lack a certain…err….ok, they’re really friggin’ weird. It’s no surprise that Sony’s venture into the phone/gaming device category that apparently exists would be accompanied by an ad that makes your skin crawl. But in a good way. I think.

In case you’ve been living under a rock, or have disregarded any news about any phones from Sony(and you would be more than justified for lowering your expectations), the Xperia Play is an Android phone made by Sony Ericsson that has a slide out gamepad. Not keyboard, gamepad. Directional arrows, all the buttons you know and love from the Playstation like circles and triangles. And squares. Oh how, I love squares. Sounds like a pretty good idea if you’re a heavy gamer and want an Android phone.

You know what’s not a good idea, though? Getting extensive surgery done in a dirty back alley by a guy who looks like he hasn’t showered in a month to attach thumbs to your green, plastic, digit-less limbs.

What’s that? You’re wondering how in the hell I made the connection between gaming phones and a scene straight out of Repo: The Genetic Opera? I have no idea. But clearly I’m not the first person to so, as this ad from Sony Ericsson demonstrates:

Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to go wash my brain of this ad before I go pre-order an Xperia Play.

Posted on February 3, 2011, in Ads, Android and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment